Welcome to the 1911Census.org.uk site ...information about the 1911 census, how to access the census online, how to make the most from your searches, what is available and not available, and much, much, more.

More pages and information

Home Page and 1911 Census

Accessing the 1911 Census

1911 Census Districts

1911 Census Schedules

Census Dates

Other 1911 Censuses

Scotland 1911 Census

Ireland 1911 Census

Other censuses for England & Wales

1939 National Identity Card

1931 Census

1921 Census

1901 Census

1891 Census

1881 Census

1871 Census

1861 Census

1851 Census

1841 Census

1831 Census

1821 Census

1811 Census

1801 Census

Links to other sites

UK Electoral Registers

School Records

The National Archives

FreeCen - free 19th century UK census returns

Feedback address

The 1911 Census in Ireland

In 1911, the whole of the island of Ireland was still part of the United Kingdom and therefore the census was taken on the same day as that for England, Wales and Scotland, the 2nd April 1911.

The information asked for was similar to the rest of the UK, in the case of Ireland being name, age, sex, relationship to head of the household, religion, occupation, marital status, county or country of birth, the ability to read or write, the ability to speak the Irish language, and whether deaf, dumb, blind, idiot, imbecile or lunatic. In addition married women were required to state the number of years they had been married, the number of children born alive in that marriage and the number still living.

The question on religion was very specific with instructions that "Members of Protestant Denominations are requested not to describe themselves by the vague term 'Protestant' but to enter the name of the Particular Church, Denomination, or Body to which they belong".

Accessing the 1911 Census for Ireland

The 1911 Irish census is available now for all 32 counties of the island of Ireland, for free, at the National Archives of Ireland website. The full 1901 Irish census is also available on the same site.

The 32 counties are Antrim, Armagh, Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Down, Dublin, Fermanagh, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, King's County (Offaly), Leitrim, Limerick, Londonderry (Derry), Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Queen’s County (Laois), Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Tyrone, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

We always welcome any comments, suggestions or corrections - you can contact us at the feedback email address on the left